Upcoming Events > | Press Releases >

Four New Members Appointed to the Arkansas State Board of Nursing

November 19, 2015

LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS, November 9, 2015 Gov. Asa Hutchinson recently appointed four new members to the Arkansas State Board of Nursing. The new members are:

Kaci Bohn, of Searcy, is an assistant professor at Harding University College of Pharmacy in Searcy where she teaches. Bohn is the director of the Harding University drug take back program, Medication Cleanout™, in partnership with the Searcy Police Department and White County Sheriff’s Department. She earned a bachelor’s degree from West Texas A&M University in Canyon, Texas, and a Ph.D. in pharmaceutical sciences from Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center in Amarillo, Texas. Bohn is a member of Mortar Board Senior Honor Society, Gamma Beta Phi Honor Society, Alpha Zeta Agricultural Honor Society and an alumna of Chi Omega. She was recently recognized by the Ones to Watch program of her alma mater, West Texas A&M University, a program that recognizes young alumni for excellence in their chosen career. Bohn stated, “I am blessed to have a mother who is a nurse practitioner and a nursing educator, so I grew up with the nursing profession in my life. She taught me to care for others and fostered an interest in the health sciences, which led me to the field of pharmacy. Because of my experience in pharmaceutical sciences, I realize the importance of safe practices in regard to medication prescribing, administration and adherence.” Bohn is the consumer representative on the Board and replaces Cynthia Burroughs.

Mike Burdine, of White Hall, is a registered nurse and fills the position for one of the associate degree nurses on the Board. He received his associate degree from the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. Burdine works at Arkansas Children’s Hospital in Little Rock He wants to serve on the Board to bring the perspective of a long term bedside nurse who intends to remain in direct patient care. Burdine is married with two adult children and, in his spare time, enjoys sailing, kayaking and gardening. He replaces Shela Upshaw on the Board.

Pamela Leal, of Shirley, is the representative of the older population on the Board and replaces F. Gladwin Connell. Leal earned her nursing diploma from Marshalltown Community College in Marshalltown, Iowa. She is married to Robert, who is a retired civilian investigator in the Crimes against Children Division of the Arkansas State Police. They have one son, Dr. Josh Leal, who is a maxillofacial surgeon in Little Rock, and he is married to KTHV reporter Meredith Mitchell, and has a daughter who attends the University of Arkansas. Leal’s nursing background includes the United States Navy Nurse Corps, college health service director, medical pediatrics, acute care, home health and hospice. Currently, she is manager of Ozark Health Home Care in Clinton. She states, “I am dedicated to quality patient care to all Arkansas residents and felt a place on the Board would help ensure safe practitioners providing such care.” Her hobbies include riding her Harley trike and short term medical missions. 

Renee Mihalko-Corbitt, of Cabot, fills the position for one of the registered nurses on the Board. She earned her bachelor’s degree from Arkansas Tech University, a master’s degree from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in Little Rock, and a doctor of nursing practice degree from Case University in Cleveland, Ohio. Mihalko-Corbitt is a member of Sigma Theta Tau National Honor Society, Gamma Xi Chapter. She was selected as the APRN (advanced practice registered nurse) of the year in 2014 at Central Arkansas Veterans Healthcare System (CAVHS). Mihalko-Corbitt has a passion for healthcare ethics and is on the ethics committee and CPR committee at CAVHS. Her area of expertise is cardiology, with a sub-specialty in electrophysiology. Previously, she was an ACLS instructor for over 20 years at CAVHS. Mihalko-Corbitt is married and has one son and daughter-in-law. She is interested in the ethical treatment and protection of the public and replaces Doris Scroggin on the Board.

About Arkansas State Board of Nursing

The Arkansas State Board of Nursing, comprised of 13 Arkansas residents appointed by the Governor, was established by the Arkansas Legislature in 1913 to safeguard the life and health of its citizens, and achieves its mission by developing standards for safe nursing care, approval of nursing schools and regulating licenses to practice nursing. 

Arkansas State Board of Nursing
University Tower Bldg.
1123 South University
Suite 800
Little Rock, AR 72204-1619
Google Map | Contact Us

Phone: 501-686-2700
Fax: 501-686-2714