Home / Compact / Did You Know?

Did You Know?

  • If your primary state of residence is Arkansas, your RN or LPN license is a multistate license (unless otherwise restricted). This allows you to practice in any other compact state with your Arkansas license.
  • Each nurse determines their primary state of residence. Primary state of residence, as defined in the compact, means “the person’s fixed permanent and principal home for legal purposes; domicile.” Proof of your primary state of residence may be requested by the Board. Sources of proof include, but are not limited to, driver’s license, voter registration card or federal tax return.
  • You must follow the laws and regulations of the state in which you practice nursing. In the case of electronic practice (telenursing), you must adhere to the practice standards of the state in which the client receives care.
  • If you move from Arkansas to a non-compact state (i.e. Oklahoma, Louisiana, etc.) your Arkansas license becomes a single state license (valid only in Arkansas) and you must obtain a new license in your new state of residence.
  • If you move from Arkansas to another compact state (i.e. Texas, Tennessee, Mississippi, etc.) you can practice on your Arkansas license for a period of no more than 30 days. After 30 days your Arkansas license will become inactive. You will need a license in your new state of residence in order to practice nursing. You can only hold one active license.
  • Military personnel are governed by federal laws and regulations. The Nurse Licensure Compact does not supersede that law. Federal government employers usually accept a nursing license from any state. If you choose to work outside a federal facility, you must hold a license in the state in which you practice.

Arkansas State Board of Nursing
University Tower Bldg.
1123 South University
Suite 800
Little Rock, AR 72204-1619
Google Map | Contact Us

Phone: 501-686-2700
Fax: 501-686-2714