Home / Adv. Practice / APRNs and ADHD Drugs

APRNs and ADHD Drugs

Effective July 10, 2007 certain ADHD drugs were added to the Preferred Drug List that the State of Arkansas Medicaid program now has in place.  These drugs include Adderall, Adderall XR, Focalin, Focalin XR, Concerta, Daytrana and Ritalin.  These drugs are all Schedule II controlled substances.  Other ADHD medications that also fall into this category but are not on the preferred list include Dexedrine, Vyvanse, Methylin, Medadate CD, and Ritalin LA, also Schedule II controlled substances.

It has come to the Board’s attention from the pharmacist who administers and monitors the Preferred Drug List for the State of Arkansas Medicaid program that they are having many requests from nurse practitioners to be able to write prescriptions for these drugs. 

REMINDER – under Arkansas law, APRNs are only allowed to prescribe controlled substances in ScheduleS III – V.  Physicians must write any Schedule II medications and sign the prescription personally.

Arkansas State Board of Nursing
University Tower Bldg.
1123 South University
Suite 800
Little Rock, AR 72204-1619
Google Map | Contact Us

Phone: 501-686-2700
Fax: 501-686-2714